Free Online Workshops from Craftsy

Video

knife

Complete Knife Skills Class

Instructor: Brendan McDermott

Cost: FREE

http://www.craftsy.com/lecture/s/7066.html

I wanted to take some cooking classes but unfortunately Wichita has very few gourmet cooking classes. The classes offered were on topics I already knew, like Italian pastas and pesto. I wanted classes that blew my mind and opened doors to culinary magnificence.

So I was happily surprised when I saw that Craftsy offered a kitchen knife skills class online for FREE. I was skeptical at first but turns out the class taught me a lot about knives and food preparation. I also feel more confident and knowledgeable about how to slice and prepare different foods depending on the dish I am preparing.

For example, I often noticed that when I chopped cilantro it not only didn’t really slice smaller but the leaves ended up bruised and mangled. This knife class taught me why this occurs and how to avoid it in the future.

This class also teaches you the correct way to sharpen your knives and how to hold unwieldy vegetables to prevent injury.

The instructor Brendan McDermott is a professional chef who has dabbled in martial arts weapon fighting. He is goofy at times and this helps offset his mostly serious teaching style.

I highly recommend this course and others FREE at Craftsy.com

Complete Knife Skills Class

Instructor: Brendan McDermott

http://www.craftsy.com/lecture/s/7066.html

Leave a Reply

