Trail Food. No granola here.

Standard

I realized last night that Julia Child had also been a trailing spouse early in her marriage.  I also realized I had been creating some marvelous foods here in the Heartland.  I confessed in an earlier post that I’d eaten a lot of sweets and gained weight.  The full story is that I baked and ate a lot of sweets.  But truly: I do love to cook and bake and it was a solace to have such wonderful delights coming out of the kitchen.

Lots of sprinkles always makes things better.

Real ginger. Real lemon. Real molasses = Real pain in the butt.

My first creation was gingerbread cookies.  My husband eats Little Debbie brand cookies by the box, and I was hoping to save some money.  However, they are too much work!

Image

“yule” want summa dis.

My second adventure was a Bûche de Noël without all the little meringue decorations.  This dessert appealed to me due to its gluten-free nature and tons of WHIPPED CREAM.  However, it was difficult to roll.  But it was very good. Could become a tradition.

yum in my tum

yum in my tum

Then I decided who needs to go to coffee shops to have delectable morning or afternoon sweet treats?  With hubby’s permission, I used the last of the bananas in the house and made this great banana cake, thanks to the Gluten-Free Goddess. They were easy to freeze and marvelous in a pinch.

Gluten-free paleo tart crust Photo credit Elana’s Pantry

Photo Credit from Elana’s Pantry. Gluten-Free tart crust was a real delight the other day.

I made this crust with this Chard Recipe from chard from the garden, although I used greek yogurt instead of all that cheese. Delish!

Recipes for other creations:

Handheld Meat Pies

Southern BBQ Chicken with Lima Beans and Cornmeal Dumplings

Snickerdoodles (gluten-free)

Lemon Blueberry Cake

Chicken Cacciatore

Cold Soba Noodle Salad

2 thoughts on “Trail Food. No granola here.

  1. Dalvinder

    Kris, don’t worry about the cracks in your yule log; a real log has cracks. Also, you could dust it with icing sugar (i think you guys call it confectionary sugar) to make it look like snow!

Leave a Reply

